Indian Teams for World Youth Team Championship

August 14, 2014

Click here to see photos of all Indian Juniors participating in the 2014 World Youth Team Championship

The World Youth Team Championships are held every two years (now inthe even numbered years). They comprise three Championships for which the Zonal Youth Teams Championships act as qualifying events.

The 15th World Youth Teams Championships will be held in Istanbul, Turkey, hosted by the prestigious Koç University from 13th to 23rd August 2014.

The Championships comprise four separate Championship series events:

The National Junior Teams for the Ortiz-Patino Trophy. This Championship is for Junior players born on or after 1st January 1989.

The National Youngsters Teams for the Damiani Cup. This Championship is for Youngsters born on or after 1st january 1994.

The National Girls Teams for the Gianarrigo Trophy. This Championship is for Girls born on or after 1st January 1989

Finally there is the National Kids Teams for the Koç University Trophy which is an invitation event. This event is for kids born on or after 1st January 1999

This is the 15th event of the (Junior) series which was inaugurated in 1987 in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. As a biennial com­petition, it was held in 1989 in Nottingham, Great Britain; in 1991 in Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA; in 1993 in Århus, Denmark; in 1995 in Bali, Indonesia; in 1997 in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada; in 1999 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA, in 2001 in Mangaratiba, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in 2003 n St.Cloud-Paris, France, in 2005 in Sydney, Australia; in 2006 in Bangkok, Thailand; in 2008 in Beijing, China, in 2010 in Philadelphia, USA and in 2012 in Taicang, China.

The host country – The Netherlands, Great Britain & USA – won the Championship on the first three occasions, but this tradition was broken in 1993 by Germany. In 1995, Great Britain became the first country to win the title twice. Denmark won the title in 1997 and Italy in 1999. In 2001, USA be­came champions for the second time; Italy followed suit in 2003, but USA took the lead in 2005 and conquered the world title for the fourth time in 2006! 2008 marked Denmark’s second victory, while in 2010 a new winner emerged: Israel, in 2012 The Netherlands won the title for the second time.

Championship Format

All the Series will be played as a complete round-robin (single in Juniors and Youngsters and double in Girls) with all teams playing each other.

At the end of the round-robin the highest ranked 8 teams in Juniors and Youngsters, and 4 teams in Girls will qualify for the knock-out stages.

Bridge Federation of India

Bridge Federation of India is the apex body governing and controlling the game of contract Bridge in India. It is registered under society’s registration Act, recognized by the Ministry of Sports and Youth affairs Govt. of India and also by Indian Olympic Federation. Through it’s tirleless efforts the BFI has coaxed the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to categorize the game of Bridge as a Priority sport. Having recently succeeded in doing this, the federation is now working tirelessly to promote, teach and organize competitions in schools, colleges, clubs and social institutions.

As a result of this effort India for the first time will be fielding a team in every series of the current championships.

Indian Teams

In the National Juniors Teams(under 26) category for the Ortiz Patino Trophy the team members are

Rahul Ravichandran
Saket Kabra
Anindra Kumar Sarkar
Sounak Mitra

In the National Girls Teams (under 26) category for the for the Gianarrigo Trophy the team members are

Hindu Sree Sridar
Jayashree Sridar
Niyati Vora
Shruti Sathe

In the National Youngsters Teams (under 21) category for the Damiani Cup the team members are

Shanmugapriyan Manickam
Dharanishvar Sakthivel Suba
Shylendran Pari
Mohammed Harris Shabeer

In the National Kids Teams (under 15) category for the Koc University Trophy the team members are

Reshwadithya Vadumangudi Balasundaram
Ithikhash Ayyavoo
Diyaneswar Durairaj
Gokul Suresh

Accompanying the teams are Arvind Vaidya, npc for Juniors and Girls, and SRC Sekar npc for Youngsters and Kids. Also accompanying is Balasundaram Subramaniam who has been coaching the Youngsters and Kids for several years.

The team will depart from Mumbai on 12th August.

  • Comments
  • About post

You must be logged in to post a comment. - Log in

2014 © Bridge Federation of India
Skip to toolbar